Return to Vitex Chaste Berry Tree Whole .25lb
Sort By::
Page of 2
Click to see more items


  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Shedding out better as he gets older July 9, 2014
Reviewer: Patti  
My 25 year old Appaloosa shed out his coat better than he ever has this summer. Almost five years ago, my vet and I suspected that he might have the appearance of early Cushings. I have given him a tbsp. of chaste tree berry (I grind the whole berries in a cheap coffee grinder)in the morning and again in the evening on top of his low starch feed (no molasses) ever since.  He gets timothy hay only, or a very light timothy alfalfa mix, and Omega Grande Complete as a general supplement.  He looks amazing, runs around with his 4 year old pasture mate, is a perfect weight, and I will continue to give him the chaste tree berry!

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 great for horses with cushings May 11, 2014
Reviewer: Gale  
I've been using chaste tree berries for my 29 yr old gelding for the past 4 yrz to treat his Cushing with great success.  It has helped him shed out.  Last winter I needed to increase his dose up to 1 tbls 2x day as his weight kept dropping.  My vet also suggested to feed him Timothy/alfalfa hay pellets. The weight came back. He is looking great this spring.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Thank you! January 6, 2014
Reviewer: Betsy  
I got my info from a rescue site. They use the Chaste Tree berry Powder year round on all their Cushings horses, including geldings. They do not claim to be doctors nor do I. They swear by the results and I know Pergolide can have bad side effects. the amount they prescribe is 1 tsp. two x a day, a heaping one for larger horses. they feed it for 3 weeks on and a week off so they don't build immunity. My horse had Cushings and Lymes, she has only been on the powder about a month, and was also on Doxy for the Lymes, but she isn't cranky like she was which was unlike her...I feed the powder, don't want to grind and put it in her senior and she never slows down. spring will be interesting but i hear lots of good reports and natural is always better! blessings to you and your 22 yr. old baby, my paint is 26!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 I mix it into apple sauce November 11, 2013
Reviewer: Cheryl Infantino  
I give my mare MSM for inflammation (she's 22 yrs old). She doesn't like the taste of that. So I mix the chaste tree berry and MSM in a little dish with some apple sauce and water then put the mixture in a syringe. I can't think of any other way. If your mare gets tired of the applesauce, you can always try some watered down molasses. Horses really like that too.

Was this review helpful to you?

  1 of 1 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 For our mare it works like a charm. November 3, 2013
Reviewer: Ricky  
I had the problem of finding a way to get my mare to take the chaste berry. If you are treating for cushings or IR, you should NOT be allowing any sugar or simple carbs into the diet.

What we did was soak 5-6 alfalfa cubes until they break apart really nice and almost make a mash. Then, we mix in the chaste berry powder.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
4 of 5 Horse with painful heat cycles October 15, 2013
Reviewer: Tabatha  
I bought this to try on a mare that I have that has painful heat cycles. Her first couple of days of heat are the worst; she will colic from the pain. The chaste tree berry has not stopped the pain, but so far it seems to be regulating her cycle. She has been on it now for a little over two months. I am giving her 1 TBSP twice a day. I have recently started her on Black Cohosh root to see if that will help with the pain.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 I will continue to use it. October 13, 2013
Reviewer: cindy  
I have used it for the past 4 months for Hank, my Belgian gelding. The web article I had found on its use suggests 1Tablespoon of powder 2x a day. I guess that it tastes good, Hank eats it up! The article also suggests on 3 weeks & off one week.

Although Hank (age 23) does not have all of the symptoms of cushings, he has shown some signs of it with weight loss & less energy. The chaste tree berry has helped him overall.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 Chaste Tree Berry-Cushings and Nutty Hor October 13, 2013
Reviewer: K Kirby  
I have been using Chaste Tree for over 18 months for a Cushings pony and it has made a drastic improvement in his mental state. He is bright and alert - not a cure, but a fantastic natural way to help him mentally and physically. We have also used it in horses that are hard to handle or even aggressive behaviors from some mental imbalance - not as a result of abuse or mishandling - and it has resulted in calming the horse and improving temperament. Both uses have taken up to 180 days to see a result with a does of 2 tsp per day for an average horse!

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 chaste tree berry for horses October 13, 2013
Reviewer: Katherine White  
We're using ground chaste tree berries for our pony as well (Miniature horse/Hackney pony cross). She tested negative for Cushings and insulin resistance, but still tends to have weight gain in areas typical of Cushings (over the shoulders, over and behind the eyes, etc.). We give her 1 tsp. of ground berries twice a day with her starch free feed, 3 weeks on and 1 week off. From what I understand the week off is important for mares. Much as it is a source of occasional distress, we ladies need that hormonal ebb and flow. Interestingly, when my daughter stopped grinding the berries and gave them whole, the pony's symptoms came right back and she gained considerable weight before I found out what was going on (about 2 weeks). This was with no change in the amount of food she took in.

Ground chaste tree berries (we use a coffee bean grinder) are an efficient, cost-effective treatment that I'd recommend for anyone with a "too easy keeper." I don't think you'll find fresher or less expensive berries than are available from More Than Alive.

Was this review helpful to you?

  0 of 0 people found the following review helpful:
 
5 of 5 I just wanted to comment on this... October 12, 2013
Reviewer: Lisa Hauri  
I also put my mare on Chaste Tree and grind it the same way. I read about it on a rescue site and thought I'd look for myself and found MoreThanAlive! Just started about 2 or 3 months ago and I am having great results too. I also give it to my gelding and they are both way more happy/mellow and looking really good - healthy. I live in San Diego and they are both almost completely shed out and lookin' fine.

I was so happy with this website that I decided to also put both horses on Rosemary, black walnut (for worms), Pau D'Arco, Stevia, Garlic, vinegar, cinnamon - and a few others occasionally. I am really thrilled with how these herbs have helped our family. This is a wonderful company and I feel really blessed to have come across it in my search for answers about my insulin resistant and cushing horses.

Thank you Vlad and Joy and Beeyoutiful, I have become a customer for life. Blessings to you.

Was this review helpful to you?

   
  Click to see more items